Conservative, Libertarian Leaders Discuss Regulatory Burdens, Fiscal and Privacy Concerns of Mandatory E-Verify Legislation

Conservative, Libertarian Leaders Discuss Regulatory Burdens, Fiscal and Privacy Concerns of Mandatory E-Verify Legislation

June 27, 2011

Washington, D.C. — On Thursday, June 30th, conservative and libertarian leaders will host a press conference call on controversial immigration enforcement legislation the House Judiciary Committee is expected to consider next week.

The legislation, H.R. 2164, would mandate the use of the flawed electronic employment verification system known as E-Verify by every employer in the United States. In Thursday’s call, conservative and libertarian policy leaders will shed light on the regulatory burdens, privacy concerns and fiscal downsides of expanded electronic verification. Moreover, they’ll explain how H.R. 2164 runs counter to the principles of free market enterprise and limited government.

What:    Telephonic Press Conference on E-Verify Legislation

Who:     Stuart Anderson, Executive Director, National Foundation for American Policy

Bob Barr, former U.S. Congressman (GA-R)

Mike Flynn, editor, BigGovernment.com

Jim Harper, director of information policy studies, Cato Institute

Alex Nowrasteh, policy analyst, Competitive Enterprise Institute

When:   Thursday, June 30th at 11 a.m. Eastern, 10 a.m. Central, 8 a.m. Pacific

How:     Dial: 1-800- 895-1085 or 785-424-1055

Conference ID: 7PRESS

Conference Title: E-Verify Immigration Call