You are here

The Warren T. Brookes Journalism Fellowship

CEI's Warren T. Brookes Journalism Fellowship is a one-year fellowship that aims to provide journalists the opportunity to improve their knowledge of free markets principles and limited government through interaction with CEI policy experts. 

The fellowship begins in October. The deadline for application is August 15.

To apply, send resume or CV along with a cover letter outlining a project plan for the fellowship that relates to CEI's issue areas.  Contact:


During his 16 years with the Boston Herald and the Detroit News, and as a nationally-syndicated columnist, Warren T. Brookes, in the words of Thomas Bray of the Detroit News, "made a virtual career out of questioning the conventional wisdoms of the so-called experts." He "delighted precisely in the unconventional wisdom, not only about economics but also about a wide range of subjects."

Warren Brookes and CEI had a special relationship, sharing information and trading the woeful tales that inevitably arise from working in Washington. After Brookes' death in 1991, CEI established the Warren T. Brookes Fellowship to keep his legacy alive. Through the program, CEI identifies and trains talented young people and experienced journalists who wish to improve their knowledge of environmental issues and free market economics. In this manner, the program seeks to perpetuate Brookes' tradition of reporting from a sound scientific and economic perspective. 


Bill Frezza: Frezza joined CEI in 2011 as a Fellow in Technology & Entrepreneurship. Since then, he’s been a prolific commentator on public policy and a strong public advocate for free markets and limited government. Frezza is a contributing columnist to RealClearMarkets, Forbes, Bio-IT World and The Huffington Post and a frequent guest on CNBC, Fox Business, CBN News, and The Blaze. As an entrepreneur and 35-year veteran of the technology industry, Frezza’s journey is testament to the power of socioeconomic mobility in America. Since graduating from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1976 with degrees in electrical engineering and biology, he has been a scientist, an engineer, a product manager, a salesman, a consultant, an entrepreneur, an author, a technology evangelist and a venture capitalist.


2012-2013Matthew Melchiorre

2011-2012 - Matt Patterson

2010-2011 - Kathryn Ciano

2009-2010 - Ryan Young

2008-2009 - Silvia Santacruz

2007-2008 - Lene Johansen

2006-2007 - Jeremy Lott

2005-2006 – Timothy Carney

2004-2005 - John Berlau

2003-2004 - Neil Hrab

2002-2003 - Hugo Gurdon


2001-2002 - Eileen Ciesla-Norcross

2000-2001 - Sean Paige

1999 - Brian Doherty

1997-1998 - Jesse Walker

1996 - James Bovard 

1995 - Michelle Malkin

1994 - Michael Fumento 

1993 - Ronald Bailey