You are here

CEI Joins Coalition Letter Urging Comprehensive, Pro-Growth Tax Reform

Coalition Letters


CEI Joins Coalition Letter Urging Comprehensive, Pro-Growth Tax Reform

View Full Document as PDF

Dear Speaker Ryan, Leader McConnell, Secretary Mnuchin, Director Cohn, Chairman Hatch, and Chairman Brady:

On behalf of the undersigned organizations, we write to urge passage of comprehensive, pro-growth tax reform in 2017.

In the past 30 years, the tax code has expanded in size and complexity. Today, the code serves well-connected special interests, not hard working American families. After many years of inaction, Congress and the administration have a chance to fix our broken tax system by making it fair, simple and less burdensome.

The first step must be passage of a budget resolution that includes reconciliation instructions for tax reform. Soon after returning from the August recess, Congress should take up and pass a budget that enables passage of a tax reform plan that levels the playing field and unlocks economic growth.

There is broad consensus on the need for tax reform. With the 2018 midterm elections in sight, it is crucial that bold policies keeping the promises made to the American people are realized soon.

Numerous polls have also shown widespread public support for tax reform that lowers rates for all and reforms the code based on the principles of simplicity, fairness, and equity. Americans are frustrated with the rigged system that favors the politically connected and lobbyists at the expense of ordinary Americans.

Tax reform must reduce tax rates for Americans across the board, drastically simplify the code for families and individuals, end the Death Tax, unrig the system to promote a healthy economy and reform the international system of taxation so businesses large and small can compete.

2017 represents an important opportunity to provide financial security to hardworking taxpayers by signing tax reform into law. We applaud the work that each of you have already taken to ensure tax reform is enacted in 2017 and stand ready to continue working with you in the second half of the year.


CFIF, American Commitment, Camaign for Liberty, CCAGW, Frontiers of Freedom, Institute for liberty, ALEC Action

Grover Norquist

President, Americans for Tax Reform

James L. Martin

Founder & Chairman, 60 Plus Association

Christine Harbin

Vice President of External Affairs, Americans for Prosperity

Daniel Schneider

Executive Director, American Conservative Union

Kevin Waterman

Chair, Annapolis Center Right Coalition Meeting (Maryland)

Dan Weber

President, Association of Mature American Citizens

Andrew F. Quinlan

President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Chuck Muth

President, Citizen Outreach (Nevada)

Chip Faulkner

Associate Director, Citizens for Limited Taxation (Massachusetts)

David McIntosh

President, Club for Growth

Katie McAuliffe

Executive Director, Digital Liberty

Palmer Schoening

President, Family Business Coalition

Richard Watson

Chairman, Florida Center Right Coalition

Adam Brandon

President, FreedomWorks

Rodolfo E. Milani

Trustee, HACER (Hispanic American Center for Economic Research)

Joseph Bast

CEO, The Heartland Institute

Heather R. Higgins

President and CEO, Independent Women's Voice

Tom Giovanetti

President, Institute for Policy Innovation

Colin A. Hanna

President, Let Freedom Ring

Brett Healy

President, The MacIver Institute (Wisconsin)

Pem & Ruth Schaeffer

Maine Conservative Activists

Mary Adams

Chair, Maine Center-right Coalition Meeting

Tom Davis

Maine Conservative Activist

Henry Kriegel

President, Montanans for Tax Reform

Tim Jones

Former Speaker, Missouri House of Representatives

State Chair, Missouri Center-Right Coalition

Brandon Arnold

Executive Vice President, National Taxpayers Union

The Honorable William O'Brien

Former Speaker, New Hampshire House of Representatives

Co-chair, New Hampshire Center Right Coalition

Jonathan Small

President, Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs

Jeff Kropf

Executive Director, Oregon Capitol Watch

Charlie Gerow

President, Quantum Communications (Pennsylvania)

Eli Lehrer

President, R Street Institute

Karen Kerrigan

President & CEO, Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council