Over 50 Groups to Congress: Use the Congressional Review Act (CRA) to Overturn Obama Regulations







FreedomWorks







January 31, 2017

Dear Senators and Representatives:

On behalf of the millions of Americans that our organizations represent, we are encouraged to see you take advantage of the unique opportunities afforded by the Congressional Review Act (CRA). The CRA is a powerful way for Congress to reassert its lawmaking authority and partner with the White House in bringing meaningful regulatory relief to millions of Americans across the country.

Congress has an important duty to work with the Trump administration in rolling back the regulatory avalanche of the last eight years. Processing resolutions of disapproval under the CRA is an essential tool for this because overturning regulations via the CRA creates a permanent bar against regulators imposing substantially similar rules in the future without seeking express authorization from Congress.

We therefore applaud your already announced resolutions of disapproval under the CRA, support their timely passage, and urge additional efforts to use the CRA to bring as much permanent regulatory relief to the American people as possible.

Sincerely,

Brent Gardner, Chief Government Affairs Officer Americans for Prosperity

James L. Martin, Founder and Chairman 60 Plus Association

Phil Kerpen, President American Commitment

Tim Doyle, Vice President of Policy and General Counsel American Council for Capital Formation

Sean Noble, President American Encore

Gary L. Bauer, President American Values





BLUEGRASS



Francis X. De Luca, President **Civitas Institute**

Coley Jackson, President

Richard Manning, President

Grover Norquist, President Americans for Tax Reform

Jim Waters, President

Caesar Rodney Institute

Norm Singleton, President Campaign For Liberty

Andrew F. Quinlan, President Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jeffrey Mazzella, President

Center for Individual Freedom

Americans for Competitive Enterprise

Americans for Limited Government

Bluegrass Institute for Public Policy Solutions

David Stevenson, Director, Center for Energy Competitiveness



COMPACT FOR AMERICA

David McIntosh, President

Nick Dranias, President & Executive Director Compact for America Educational Foundation

Kim Crockett, Vice President and General Counsel

Kent Lassman, President **Competitive Enterprise Institute**

Mark Lucas, President Concerned Veterans for America

Thomas Schatz, President Council for Citizens Against Government Waste



Club for Growth

Center of the American Experiment



Katie McAuliffe, Executive Director Digital Liberty

Craig Richardson, Executive Director Energy & Environment Legal Institute

David Christensen, VP of Government Affairs Family Research Council

Andy Koenig, Vice President of Policy Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce

Adam Brandon, President and CEO FreedomWorks

Andrew Clark, President Generation Opportunity

William A. Estrada, Esq., Director of Federal Relations Home School Legal Defense Association

Wayne Hoffman, President Idaho Freedom Foundation

Carrie Lukas, Managing Director Independent Women's Forum

Heather Higgens, President and CEO Independent Women's Voice

Andrew Langer, President Institute for Liberty

Jon Sanders, Director of Regulatory Studies John Locke Foundation

Seton Motley, President Less Government

Brett Healy, President MacIver Institute for Public Policy

Dee Hodges, President Maryland Taxpayers Association

3













SMART

POLITICS

(PAYERS ROTECTION .LIANCE

Smart Girl Politics LIBERTY • OPPORTUNITY • PROSPERITY David Williams, President

Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Teri Christoph, Co-Founder

Judson Phillips, Founder **Tea Party Nation**

Dr. Robert McClure, President and CEO The James Madison Institute

Lisa B. Nelson, CEO The Jeffersonian Project

Daniel Garza, President The LIBRE Initiative



Brent Mead, CEO Montana Policy Institute

Harry C. Alford, President/CEO National Black Chamber of Commerce

Willes K. Lee, President National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Pete Sepp, President National Taxpayers Union

William Booher, Interim Executive Director Pelican Institute for Public Policy

Mike Stenhouse, CEO Rhode Island Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Paul J. Gessing, President **Rio Grande Foundation**









Michael W. Thompson, Chairman and President Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy

Carl Bearden, Executive Director United for Missouri

Rose Bogaert, Chair Wayne County Taxpayers Association

Jonathan Downing, CEO Wyoming Liberty Group