









## 80+ Orgs to Missouri Legislature: Right to Work Benefits States

September 8, 2015

Dear Members of the Missouri State Senate and General Assembly:

We represent organizations from across the country dedicated to promoting worker freedom. Our organizations' nonpartisan analysis shows that increasing worker freedom produces greater prosperity and growth in state economies, and we urge you to consider these benefits as you contemplate "Right to Work" in Missouri.

The data are clear: Right to Work states outperform their non-Right to Work counterparts. According to the Bureau of Economic Analysis, Right to Work states have experienced greater job growth, population growth, and compensation growth over every significant measured amount of time. Adjusted for cost of living, workers in Right to Work states earn just as much as workers in non-Right to Work states. And union membership actually grew in many states after they passed Right to Work legislation.

Missouri is surrounded by Right to Work states and continues to lag economically. But it is not just border states benefitting at Missouri's expense. According to IRS data, from 1992 to 2013, Missouri lost well over \$3.5 billion of income to Florida, Texas, Arizona, and North Carolina – all Right to Work states.

In many of our states, citizens have been fortunate to enjoy the benefits of Right to Work, and our economies have prospered as a result. For those citizens in the states that have not yet passed this crucial reform, we continue to advocate for and explain the benefits of increasing worker freedom.

As part of this effort, many of our organizations recently participated in National Employee Freedom Week, in which we educate union workers about the freedoms available to them – how to opt out of the union entirely in Right to Work states, and how to be freed from certain dues in non-Right to Work states.

In years past, hundreds of workers across the country chose to free themselves of union obligations. Undoubtedly, there are many workers right here in Missouri who wish to be freed from union membership and all corresponding obligations. We believe every worker in America should be afforded that basic liberty.

The undersigned coalition of public policy research and grassroots advocacy organizations strongly supports Right to Work. Right to Work would mean freedom for workers, accountability for unions, and an















enormous boost for the Missouri economy.

Sincerely,

Patrick Werner, Missouri State Director Americans for Prosperity

Dan Greenberg, President Advance Arkansas Institute

Caleb Crosby, President and CEO Alabama Policy Institute

Jon Russell, Director American City County Exchange

Phil Kerpen, President American Commitment

Sean Noble, President American Encore

Lisa B. Nelson, CEO American Legislative Exchange Council

Coley Jackson, President Americans for Competitive Enterprise

Richard Manning, President Americans for Limited Government

Grover Norquist, President Americans for Tax Reform

Scot Mussi, President Arizona Free Enterprise Club

John Mielke, President Associated Builders and Contractors of Wisconsin

Colin Sharkey, Executive Vice President Association of American Educators Foundation

Justin Owen, President Beacon Center of Tennessee













FREEDOM















IOWANS FOR RIGHT TO WORK COMMITTEE





Jim Waters, President Bluegrass Institute for Public Policy Solutions (Kentucky)

Rea S. Hederman Jr., Executive Vice President Buckeye Institute (Ohio)

John Stapleford, President Caesar Rodney Institute (Delaware)

Larry Sand, President California Teachers Empowerment Network

Karen England, Executive Director Capitol Resource Family Alliance

John A. Charles, Jr., President & CEO Cascade Policy Institute (Oregon)

Jeffrey Mazzella, President Center for Individual Freedom

Matt Patterson, Executive Director Center for Worker Freedom

Kim Crockett, Chief Operating Officer, EVP and General Counsel Center of the American Experiment (Minnesota)

Chuck Muth, President Citizen Outreach (Nevada)

Brian Balfour, Director of Policy Dr. Robert Luebke, Senior Policy Analyst Civitas Institute (North Carolina)

Matthew J. Brouillette, President and CEO Commonwealth Foundation (Pennsylvania)

Iain Murray, Vice President of Strategy Competitive Enterprise Institute

Dan Caldwell, Legislative and Political Director Concerned Veterans for America

Rob Roper, President Ethan Allen Institute (Vermont)

















Jonathan Haines, Director Federalism In Action

Brian Minnich, Vice President Freedom Foundation (Washington)

Annette Meeks, CEO Freedom Foundation of Minnesota

Marc Short, President Freedom Partners

Andrew Clark, President Generation Opportunity

Louie Hunter, Chair Georgia Center Right Coalition

Kelly McCutchen, President Georgia Public Policy Foundation

Burly Cain, Executive Director GOAL Advocacy (New Mexico)

Wayne Hoffman, President Idaho Freedom Foundation

John Tillman, CEO Illinois Policy Institute

Don Racheter, Immediate Past Chairman Iowans for Right to Work

Sal J. Nuzzo, Vice President of Policy James Madison Institute (Florida)

Jon Sanders, Director of Regulatory Studies John Locke Foundation (North Carolina)

Charles M. Arlinghaus, President Josiah Bartlett Center for Public Policy (New Hampshire)

Dave Trabert, President Kansas Policy Institute

Seton Motley, President Less Government

















Michael Carnuccio, President Liberty Foundation of America (Oklahoma)

Dee Hodges, President Maryland Taxpayers Association

Paul D. Craney, Executive Director Massachusetts Fiscal Alliance

Tim Jones, Chairman Missouri Club for Growth

Mary Hill, Executive Director Missouri Employment Freedom

Lew Uhler, President National Tax Limitation Committee

Pete Sepp, President National Taxpayers Union

Doug Kagan, President Nebraska Taxpayers for Freedom

Victor Joecks, Executive Vice President Nevada Policy Research Institute

Chris Rogers , President New Jersey Taxpayers' Association

Carla J. Sonntag, President and Founder New Mexico Business Coalition

Dave Bond, CEO OCPA Impact

Jonathon Small, Executive Vice President Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs

Kevin P. Kane, President Pelican Institute for Public Policy (Louisiana)

Jim Vokal, CEO Platte Institute for Economic Research (Nebraska)





THE NATIONAL CENTER













Don Racheter, President Public Interest Institute (Iowa)

Lori Sanders, Outreach Director & Senior Fellow R Street Institute

Mike Stenhouse, CEO Rhode Island Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Paul J. Gessing, President Rio Grande Foundation (New Mexico)

J. Scott Moody, CEO State Budget Solutions

Maureen Blum, President Strategic Coalitions & Initiatives

Derek Monson, Director of Public Policy Sutherland Institute (Utah)

David Williams, President Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Judson Phillips, Founder Tea Party Nation

Brooke L Rollins, President/CEO Texas Public Policy Foundation

Joseph Bast, President and CEO The Heartland Institute

Lisa B. Nelson, CEO The Jeffersonian Project

Daniel Garza, Executive Director The LIBRE Initiative

F. Vincent Vernuccio, JD, Director of Labor Policy The Mackinac Center for Public Policy (Michigan)

Mike Quatrano, Director of Civic Engagement The Maine Heritage Policy Center

Amy Ridenour, Chairman The National Center for Public Policy Research Michael W. Thompson, Chairman and President Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy (Virginia)

Carl Bearden, Executive Director United for Missouri

Rose Bogaert , Chair Wayne County Taxpayers Association (Michigan)

Rick Esenberg, President and General Counsel Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty

Scott Manley, Vice President of Government Relations Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce

Heather Greenaway, Executive Director Workforce Fairness Institute

Carol Platt Liebau, President Yankee Institute (Connecticut)