



## Dear Members of Congress:

We write to you as organizations that care deeply about philanthropy to urge you to oppose the newly proposed "Initiative to Accelerate Charitable Giving." Contrary to its title, this proposal would severely hamper Americans' ability to give to causes they care about.

The core of the Initiative is a series of unnecessary and arbitrary regulations on donor-advised funds, which are an increasingly popular vehicle for charitable giving. Donor-advised funds allow individuals to donate as much as they can in a given year; they facilitate both immediate and long-term giving for a specific cause or local community. Beyond donor-advised funds, the Initiative also takes aim at a family's ability to serve its own foundation, which would unfairly target smaller and less-wealthy institutions.

Throughout history, the freedom to give has been an indispensable part of America's culture and social fabric. Charity helps us come together as a nation, overcome partisan divides, and face serious societal challenges, both now and in the future. The current COVID-19 pandemic is a case in point: Charitable giving was up 7.5 percent during the first half of 2020, and major donor-advised fund providers have seen both the value and number of charitable grants rise by about 50 percent.

It's important to keep America's charitable sector strong and vibrant by allowing people to easily give to the causes they care about. We call on you to oppose attempts to discourage donors or undermine important vehicles for charitable giving, particularly during times of crisis when philanthropic engagement is most needed.

## Yours sincerely,

Jack Park General Counsel

**ACRU Action Fund** 

Lisa B. Nelson CEO

**ALEC Action** 

Michael Farris President & CEO

**Alliance Defending Freedom** 

Michael B. Poliakoff

President

American Council of Trustees and Alumni

Elliot Engstrom Legal Director

**American Juris Link** 

David R. Osborne

**Americans for Fair Treatment** 

Catherine Glenn Foster

President & CEO

**Americans United for Life** 

Justin Owen

President & CEO

**Beacon Center of Tennessee** 

Will Swaim

President

**California Policy Center** 

Scott Walter\*

President

**Capital Research Center** 

Clay Spence

Director

Cicero Institute

Ryan P. Williams

President

The Claremont Institute

Curt Levey President

The Committee for Justice

Charles Mitchell

President & CEO

**Commonwealth Foundation** 

Kent Lassman

President

Competitive

**Enterprise Institute** 

Lawson R. Bader

President & CEO

**DonorsTrust** 

Robert Enlow President & CEO

**EdChoice** 

Tim Hoefer President & CEO

Empire Center for Public Policy

Clifford D. May

Founder & President

**Foundation for Defense** 

of Democracies

Richard N. Lorenc

**Executive Vice President** 

Foundation for

**Economic Education** 

Jonathan Bechtle

COO & General Counsel

Foundation for

**Government Accountability** 

Tom McCabe

CEO

Freedom Foundation

over -



Annette Meeks

Freedom Foundation

of Minnesota

Adam Brandon

President

FreedomWorks

Roger Ream

President & CEO

**Fund for American Studies** 

Grace-Marie Turner

President

**Galen Institute** 

Koppany Jordan

Development Associate

**Georgia Center for Opportunity** 

Kyle Wingfield

President & CEO

Georgia Public

**Policy Foundation** 

Victor Riches

President & CEO

Goldwater Institute

Cameron Macdonald Director of Litigation

Government Justice Center, Inc.

Jessica Anderson

**Executive Director** 

**Heritage Action for America** 

Matthew Paprocki

President

Illinois Policy Institute

Dale L. Wilcox

Executive Director &

General Counsel **Immigration Reform** 

Law Institute

Jon C. Caldara

President

Independence Institute

David J. Theroux

Founder, President & CEO

**Independent Institute** 

Carrie Lukas

President

**Independent Women's Forum** 

F. Vincent Vernuccio

President

Institute for the

**American Worker** 

Dr. Robert McClure

President & CEO

The James Madison Institute

Becki Gray

Senior Vice President

John Locke Foundation

Connor Boyack

President

**Libertas Institute** 

Patrick Hughes President & Co-founder

**Liberty Justice Center** 

Jim Walker

Vice President for Advancement

Mackinac Center for Public Policy Executive Director

Heather Noyes

Director of Operations

**Maine Policy Institute** 

Peter W. Wood

President

**National Association** of Scholars

Pete Sepp

President

National

**Taxpayers Union** 

Mark Chenoweth

**Executive Director** New Civil Liberties Alliance

Jonathan Small

President

Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs

Steven D. Anderson

President & CEO

**Pacific Legal Foundation** 

Sally C. Pipes

President & CEO

Pacific Research Institute

Ellen Weaver

President & CEO

**Palmetto Promise Institute** 

Heather Lauer

Executive Director

**People United for Privacy** 

Elise Westhoff

President & CEO The Philanthropy Roundtable

James Stergios

**Pioneer Institute** 

Jim Vokal

CFO

Platte Institute

Stacy Blakeley

**Executive Director** The Policy Circle

Rupert Munro

Vice President of Development

**Property and Environment** 

Research Center

J. Christian Adams

President

**Public Interest** Legal Foundation

Daniel E. Burrows\*

Legal Director

**Public Trust Institute** 

Heather R. Higgins

President

The Randolph Foundation

Tracie Sharp

President & CEO

**State Policy Network** 

Claire Kittle Dixon

Executive Director Talent Market

David Williams

President

**Taxpayers Protection Alliance** 

Kevin D. Roberts, Ph.D.

Executive Director

**Texas Public Policy Foundation** 

Daniel Mead Smith

President & CEO

**Washington Policy Center** 

Carol Platt Liebau

President

Yankee Institute

<sup>\*</sup>Affiliation listed for identification purposes only