Conservative Groups Raise Alarm on Climate Resolutions

<?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags” />

Washington, D.C., May 6, 2003—The Competitive Enterprise Institute and 32 other public policy groups are raising concerns about the approach Congress is taking to climate change policy in a joint letter to House International Relations Committee Chairman Henry Hyde (R-IL).<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office” />


In an open joint letter released today, representatives from 33 non-profit organizations explain the flaws with alarmist statements about climate change and science contained in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee’s State Department authorization bill, urging the House committee not take the same path.  The Senate committee findings include exaggerations, misleading statements, out-of-context citations, and reliance on discredited sources.  The Committee adopted resolutions based on these flawed premises.


In the last Congress, the House International Relations Committee narrowly approved similar language offered by Rep. Robert Menendez (D-NJ).  One Republican (Chris Smith of New Jersey) joined 22 Democrats in favor of the amendment in 2001.  Menendez is expected to offer the Senate provisions when the committee marks up the State Department authorization bill on Wednesday.  The Senate bill is scheduled to come to the Senate floor on Wednesday as well.


“In our view, the resolutions are even more flawed than the findings,” wrote Myron Ebell, Director of Global Warming Policy at CEI.  “The first two resolutions recommend that the U.S. adopt Kyoto-style policies to limit energy use by American consumers.  The third resolution urges the U.S. to extend the Kyoto Protocol by negotiating a second round of binding limits on greenhouse gas emissions.”


“The Kyoto Protocol is a dead end…and so too are all similar approaches based on forcing cuts in carbon dioxide emissions.  Adopting Kyoto-style policies would have enormous economic costs without making significant reductions in greenhouse gas levels.  Just at the moment that the Kyoto Protocol is collapsing and other industrialized countries that have ratified the Protocol are discovering that they cannot meet their targets is not the time to jump back on the Kyoto bandwagon.”


CEI is a non-profit, non-partisan public policy group dedicated to the principles of free enterprise and limited government.




Fred L. Smith, President

Myron Ebell, Director, Global Warming Policy

Competitive Enterprise Institute


Paul M. Weyrich, National Chairman

Coalitions for America


Grover Norquist, President

Americans for Tax Reform


Paul Beckner, President

Citizens for a Sound Economy


David Keene, Chairman

American Conservative Union


Malcolm Wallop, Chairman

Frontiers of Freedom


Duane Parde, Executive Director

American Legislative Exchange Council


James L. Martin, President

60 Plus Association


Tom Schatz, President

Citizens Against Government Waste


Amy Ridenour, President

National Center for Public Policy Research


Frank J. Gaffney, Jr., President

Center for Security Policy


Karen Kerrigan, Chairman

Small Business Survival Committee


Tom DeWeese, President

American Policy Center


Joseph L. Bast, President

The Heartland Institute


Paul Driessen, Senior Fellow

Committee for a Constructive Tomorrow


Steven Milloy, President

Citizens for the Integrity of Science


Lori Waters, Executive Director

Eagle Forum


Richard Lessner, Executive Director

American Renewal


Terrence Scanlon, President

Capital Research Center


Dennis T. Avery, Director

Center for Global Food Issues, Hudson Institute


Leroy Watson, Legislative Director

The National Grange


Kevin L. Kearns, President

U. S. Business and Industry Council


Bonner Cohen, Senior Fellow

Lexington Institute


Michael Hardiman, Legislative Director

American Land Rights Association


C. Preston Noell, III, President

Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.


Ron Pearson, President

Council for America


Jeffrey B. Gayner, Chairman

Americans for Sovereignty


Chuck Muth, President

Citizen Outreach


Benjamin C. Works, Executive Director



Allan Parker, Founder and CEO

Texas Justice Foundation


Alan Caruba, Founder

The National Anxiety Center


Mark Q. Rhoads, Acting President

U. S. Internet Council


Patrick Michaels, Professor of Environmental Sciences

University of Virginia


Robert Ferguson, Executive Director

Center for Science and Public Policy