CEI 35th Anniversary Event Speakers Announced

dinner is coming flags

Today, the Competitive Enterprise Institute is pleased to announce the speakers for its 35th-anniversary dinner on June 20 in Washington, D.C.

“The Competitive Enterprise Institute will celebrate 35 years of success in promoting free market values and policies with a June 20 gala featuring Pulitzer Prize-winning humorist Dave Barry, Reason Magazine editor-in-chief Katherine Mangu-Ward, and the 2019 winner of the Julian L. Simon Memorial Award, Johan Norberg,” said Kent Lassman, CEI president. “It will be an evening of optimism, ideas, and humor about the absurdities of life in Washington, D.C.”​

WHO:              Dave Barry, Pulitzer Prize-winning humorist

                        Katherine Mangu-Ward, Reason Magazine editor-in-chief

                        Johan Norberg, author, lecturer, documentary filmmaker

WHAT:            Competitive Enterprise Institute’s 35th-anniversary dinner

WHEN:            Thursday, June 20, 2019

WHERE:         Marriott Marquis, 901 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington, DC

EVENT INFO: https://dinner.cei.org/

CONTACT:     [email protected] or general questions to [email protected]

CEI established the Julian L. Simon Award in 2001 to acknowledge an individual whose work promotes the vision of man as the ultimate resource. Simon authored the 1981 classic, The Ultimate Resource, which debunked eco-doomsayers’ predictions that modern civilization is unsustainable. Over the years, he argued that humans are living longer, that people are better fed and healthier, that resources are becoming ever more abundant, and that environmental quality is improving.