House Votes for Scalise Resolution Opposing Carbon Taxes


The House of Representative voted on July 19th for a resolution “expressing the sense of Congress that a carbon tax would be detrimental to American families and businesses and is not in the best interest of the United States.” The final vote on H. Con. Res. 119 was 229 to 180. Seven Democrats joined 222 Republicans in favor, while six Republicans joined 174 Democrats against.

The House Democrats voting against carbon taxes were: Sanford Bishop (GA), Henry Cuellar (TX), Conor Lamb (PA), Vicente Gonzalez (TX), Stephanie Murphy (FL), Tom O’Halleran (AZ), and Kyrsten Sinema (AZ). Republicans voting for carbon taxes were: Carlos Curbelo (FL), Brian Fitzpatrick (PA), Trey Hollingsworth (IN), Mia Love (UT), Francis Rooney (FL), and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL).

One Republican and one Democrat voted present. Six Republicans and eleven Democrats did not vote. The resolution was introduced by Reps. Steve Scalise (R-LA) and David McKinley (R-WV). A vote on a similar resolution in 2016 was supported by all Republicans voting.